Skip to content

Alison Hinds New Album in Stores soon

September 14, 2007

alisonhinds850album.jpgAsk SOCA superstar ALISON HINDS what she wants her music to convey and she replies, “More than anything, I’m hoping to expose the world to my music and for people to really appreciate and say yes to it. It’s infectious, and happy but can still say something and touch lives. SOCA is what I’m known for, so I want the music to represent who I am.” The intoxicating musical movement known as SOCA (popular dance music of the SOuthern CAribbean) is rapidly gaining popularity among music lovers around the globe.

It is a sexy and uplifting music known for its infectious rhythms and spirited spicy lyrics that inspires jubilant audience participation albeit with waving hands and flags to swaying hips, all in a ritualistic celebration that exemplifies life today in the Caribbean. ALISON HINDS is poised to become a major force in the eruption of innovative urban-influenced Caribbean-based artists such as fellow-Bajan popstar Rihanna, Sean Paul, or Shaggy, who are changing the face of music worldwide. Crowned the undisputed “Queen of SOCA” by fans worldwide, her powerful, emotional vocals and high-energy live shows are legendary to Caribbean music fans. So it’s fitting that ALISON’s much anticipated solo debut is entitled SOCA QUEEN.

Featuring production from heavyweights like Salaam Remi (Nas, Fugees, Amy Winehouse), SOCA QUEEN is the album Alison was born to make. Offers ALISON,” I see myself as a modern singer. So many genres of music influenced me and my cd reflects that eclecticism.” With its mix of high energy to mid tempo and a soulful ballad “Island Girl”, SOCA QUEEN is an opportunity for ALISON to expand SOCA’s boundaries.

Among SOCA QUEEN’s standout tracks is “Roll It Gal”. An energetic dance track as well as an empowering girl power anthem, “Roll It Gal” shot to the top of the charts in Barbados, Trinidad, Jamaica and throughout the Caribbean almost instantly upon its initial release in ‘05, “When I heard the demo I said this is it. It was meant to be; I recorded it in one take! It connected like no other song I’d done before.” The message? “I’m telling women to take pride in themselves, don’t take any abuse, look after your kids, do your studies, believe in yourself and look to God. So many women have told me that the song lifts them up.” Along with “Roll It Gal”, ALISON reinterprets some of her previous hits including the pro female jump up “Ladies Rule”, originally recorded with ALISON’s own band and

“Togetherness”, an upbeat party anthem that Alison describes as “very happy and light”. Additionally, SOCA QUEEN contains banging new songs, among them the Salaam Remi produced “The Show” and “The More You Get”, which ALISON says is “very modern and for the girls. “I’m letting them know that on or off the dance floor we can tell the guys what to do. It’s one of my favorites, and working with Salaam was great, because he’s so versatile and laid back”.

Tracks on the Cd
1. The More You Get

2. Faluma
3. Roll It Gal
4. Thunder
5. Blazin’
6. Island Girl
7. Caution
8. Ladies Rules
9. Myspace
10. Good Morning
11. The Show
12. In The Name Of Love
13. Soca Nation
14. Togetherness
15. Roll It Gal (Rishi Rich Remix)

Contact Alison Hinds and Management

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: