Skip to content

2009 Barbados Music Awards Results

January 5, 2009

HTML clipboard


Lifetime Achievement Award – Square One

International Lifetime Achievement Award – Regina Belle

Living Legend – Anthony Walrond

Award of Merit – Winston Jordan

Cornerstone – Ivory

Cornerstone – Wayne Poonka Willock

Cornerstone – Myrle Niles

Cornerstone – Win Calendar

Best Collaboration

Tara and Blood – This Is Fete  [WINNER]

Ayana John and LRG – Paper Chase

Janna and Rasheeda – Candy World

Rihanna and T.I.- Live Your Life

Ruby Tech and Damian Marvay – Hustle

Best New Artist

Justin King

Livii Franc

Stabby De Guard  [WINNER]

Janna and Rasheeda

Toby Armstrong and Blues Explosion

Ragga / Mid- Tempo Soca Single of the Year

Wrong Gal- Red Plastic Bag

Natahlee- Sun To Sun

Krosfyah feat. Edwin Yearwood- Nah Missing Me  [WINNER]

Justin King- Soaking Wet

Gorg- Tipsy

Soca (up-tempo) Single

Stabby- Go Stabby

Blood- That Is What I Talking Bout [WINNER]

Khiomal- Unleash De Beast

Edwin Yearwood- Handle Ya Business

Kirk Brown- Show Me

Best Social Commentary

Mr. Impact- Where Is My Country

Adrian Clarke- Put That In Ya Song  [WINNER]

Red Plastic Bag- De Government Change

Sheldon Hope- How Much Longer

Classic- They Don’t See

Soca / Calypso Album Of The Year

Soca 2008- South Central Management

Blood Ties- Redd Head Records  [WINNER]

Loaded- Monsta Piece

More Fire Blazing- De Red Boys

Feeling Nas- Dwaintrobus

Best Non- Soca Compilation

Unpolished Underdogs- Triple   [WINNER -Tied]

Best Christmas Ever- CRS  [WINNER- Tied]

Mojo Vibes- Lethal Studios

Reggae Artist of the Year


David Kirton [WINNER]

Seth Billy

Gospel Artist of the Year

Lana Spooner  [WINNER]

Paula Hinds

Hosia Hinds

Crystal Cummins- Beckles

Suzanne Dottin

Jazz Artist of the Year

Rosemary Phillips

David Ziggy Walcott  [WINNER]

Marissa Lindsay

Black Clay Soil

Andre Woodvine

R&B / Soul Artist

Ayana John

Hal Linton  [WINNER]



Damian Marvay

Pop / Rock / Alternative Artist




Phillip 7

Toby Armstrong and Blues Explosion

R & B / Hip-Hop Artist of the Year


Ruby Tech  [WINNER]

Fantom Dundeal



Song of the Year

Shontelle- T-Shirt  [WINNER]

Rihanna- Disturbia

Edwin Yearwood- Nah Missing Me

Ayana John feat. LRG- Paper Chase

Rupee- Feet Don’t Fail Me Now

Video of the Year Male

Krosfyah feat. Edwin Yearwood- Nah Missing Me

Buggy- Outside Lady  [WINNER-Tied]

Kirk Brown feat. Danny Reid- Baby  [WINNER Tied]

Fantom Dundeal- One Minute

Khiomal- Start De Madness

Video of the Year Female

Tara- All Night

Rihanna- Disturbia  [WIINER]

Shontelle- T-Shirt

Tejay- Chimmie Pappa

Rihanna- Take A Bow

Album of the Year

De Red Boys- More Fire Blazing

Krosfyah- Journey

Redd Head Records- Blood Ties  [WINNER]

Dwain Anthrobus- Feeling Nas

Triple E- Unpolished Underdogs

Band of the Year


Fully Loaded

Krosfyah  [WINNER]



Producer of the Year

KB #

Peter Coppin  [WINNER]

De Red Boys


Anderson Armstrong

Songwriter of the Year


Edwin Yearwood  [WINNER]

Stedson Red Plastic Bag Wiltshire

Janice Lady J Devonish

Chrystal Cummins- Beckles

Female Entertainer Of The Year

Rihanna  [WINNER]




Ayana John

Male Entertainer of the Year


Kirk Brown

Khiomal  [WINNER]

Hal Linton

David Kirton

Platinum Certification

Soca Queen – alison Hinds

Award of Excellence

Peter Ram

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: