Skip to content

2009 Soca Monarch semifinalists named

January 22, 2009
2008 Soca Monarch

2008 Soca Monarch

The semi-finalists for the bmobile International Power Soca Monarch competition have been picked, and among them are Fay-Ann Lyons (wife of defending Soca Monarch Bunji Garlin), Iwer George, Nadia Batson, defending Groovy Soca Monarch Shurwayne Winchester and Patrice Roberts.

The names were released yesterday by Caribbean Prestige Foundation for the Performing Arts, organisers of the event.

Also on February 8, at the Arima Velodrome, is the semi-final of the PlayWhe International Groovy Soca Monarch Competition, which will take place from 4 p.m. before the Power Soca Monarch competition.

The finalists for the Power Soca Monarch Competition are:

Anselm Douglas, Benjai, Berbis, Blaxx, Blaze & JW, Blazer Dan, Choppa, Fay-Ann Lyons, Ivy, Iwer George, Jermeeka Mundy, King of Swag TC, Knycky Cordner, Lil Bitts, Nadia Batson, Ninjitsu, Nnika Francis, Olatunji, Patrice Roberts, Russel Cadogan, Shurwayne Winchester, Soca Tech, Terri Lyons, Tony Prescott, Trevor Gore and Tyra Matthews.

The Groovy Soca semi-finalists are:

Alicia Lee, Ansel Joseph, Benjai, Biggie Irie, Blazz; Cassie, Cedonia, Chucky, Edwin Yearwood, Erphaan Alves, Esther Dyer, Farmer Nappy, Fay-Ann Lyons, Fireball, Gary Jackson, Hunter, Iwer George, Kerwin Du Bois, Patch, Nadia Batson, Patrice Roberts, Pelf, Peter Ram, Sean Caruth, Shal Marshall, Shyann Bailey, Skhi, Sugar Raye, Tracey D, Tizzy, Zan and Zoleah.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: