Skip to content

Usain Bolt runs 9.58secs to smash world record in 100 metres

August 16, 2009

Usain Bolt confirmed his status as the fastest man on earth as he scorched to victory in the 100 metres at the World Championships in Berlin in a new world record time of 9.58secs.

Bolt, a triple gold medal winner at last summer’s Olympics, smashed the mark of 9.69sec he set in winning the 100 metres in Beijing, carving another 11 hundredths of a second off his old gold standard.

The Jamaican’s rivals were simply left trailing in his wake, as he capitalised on a perfect start to open up a two-metre gap at half distance before streaking even further clear in the closing stages.

Tyson Gay, the champion from Osaka in 2007, had to settle for second place in what was still a personal best time of 9.71 seconds and a new American record, with another Jamaican, Asafa Powell, in third.

“I was feeling good after the semis. I knew it was going to be a great race and I executed it,” Bolt said. “It’s a great time, a great feeling, I feel good in myself and I knew I could do it.

“There was a big build up, great atmosphere. It wasn’t going to be an easy race but I had a perfect start and just went from there.

“I came out here to do my best and I did what I had to do. There’ll be no partying for me ahead of Tuesday. I’ll rest up as always, I need to rest up for the 200m.”

Gay, who endured a miserable Olympics in 2008 after rushing back to competition from a debilitating hamstring injury, had promised revenge on Bolt but the American could not get close enough to mount a challenge despite running the third fastest time ever.

He said: “I ran the best I could. I just wanted to give my best tonight, it wasn’t enough but I’m happy to have the national record.

“I knew I had to put out a championship performance. I gave it my best and that’s all I could do.”

Britain’s Dwain Chambers clocked exactly ten seconds but finishing only sixth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

